Lzzy Hale’s Top 15 Halestorm Songs: A Journey Through Music and Memories

Halestorm, with their powerhouse frontwoman Lzzy Hale, has carved out a legendary path in the rock music landscape over their 15-year career. With five LPs under their belt, they’ve amassed a treasure trove of songs ranging from radio hits to headbangers to heartfelt ballads. As Lzzy settles back into her Nashville home, surrounded by her beloved guitars (and her signature model, which has become a playful weapon against bandmate Joe Hottinger’s knees), she takes us on a personal journey through the 15 Halestorm tracks that hold a special place in her heart.

14. “Rock Show” (The Strange Case Of…, 2012)
Inspired by a poignant letter from a young fan named Ali, “Rock Show” captures the essence of finding solace and belonging in music, especially for the youth. It’s a testament to the magic of shared musical experiences.

13. “Killing Ourselves To Live” (Vicious, 2018)
What started as a beachside jam session in Australia evolved into a raw and powerful track. Lzzy reminisces about the unconventional origins of this song, highlighting Joe’s signature guitar work that adds depth to the composition.

12. “Love Bites (So Do I)” (The Strange Case Of…, 2012)
A rebellious anthem born out of spontaneity, “Love Bites” embodies the punk spirit of Halestorm. Its infectious energy and defiant lyrics made it an instant favorite among fans.

11. “It’s Not You” (Halestorm, 2009)
Reflecting on her humble beginnings as a guitarist, Lzzy recalls the creation of “It’s Not You” with fondness. Despite her initial doubts, the song has become a fan favorite and a reminder of her journey in mastering her craft.

10. “Break In” (The Strange Case Of…, 2012)
A cherished track that took on new life during a tour with Evanescence, “Break In” became a beautiful duet between Lzzy and Amy Lee. It’s a testament to the camaraderie between female artists in a male-dominated industry.

9. “Wicked Ways” (Back From The Dead, 2022)
With its aggressive vocals and unapologetic lyrics, “Wicked Ways” showcases Lzzy’s determination to embrace her flaws and vulnerabilities. Despite facing resistance from some radio stations, the song stands as a testament to her authenticity.

8. “Familiar Taste Of Poison” (Halestorm, 2009)
A song that endured a journey from analog recordings to a completed track, “Familiar Taste Of Poison” holds a special place in Lzzy’s heart. It serves as a reminder of the importance of preserving creative ideas and trusting in their eventual fruition.

7. “Heart Of Novocaine” (Vicious, 2018)
Written during a period of personal reflection, “Heart Of Novocaine” delves into themes of letting go of toxic relationships. Lzzy’s raw emotion resonates through the song, leaving a lasting impact on both listeners and producers alike.

6. “I Like It Heavy” (Into the Wild Life, 2015)
A departure from their usual sound, “I Like It Heavy” captures the band’s spirit of experimentation. Recorded in a church with producer Jay Joyce, the song radiates infectious energy and unabashed joy.

5. “Do Not Disturb” (Vicious, 2018)
Born out of a synth-dance experiment, “Do Not Disturb” took on a life of its own despite initial reservations. Lzzy’s candid storytelling about its origins adds an extra layer of intrigue to this provocative track.

4. “I Miss The Misery” (The Strange Case Of…, 2012)
Written during a tumultuous period in Lzzy’s life, “I Miss The Misery” explores the complexities of relationships and nostalgia. Its universal themes have resonated deeply with audiences, cementing its status as a fan favorite.

3. “I Get Off” (Halestorm, 2009)
Originally conceived during a challenging time for the band, “I Get Off” evolved into a high-energy anthem that captures the thrill of performing live. Its journey from adversity to triumph reflects Halestorm’s resilience and passion for their craft.

2. “Bombshell” (Back From The Dead, 2022)
A serendipitous recording session led to the creation of “Bombshell,” a powerful ode to female empowerment. Its infectious energy and empowering lyrics have made it a standout track for both the band and their crew.

1. “Here’s To Us” (The Strange Case Of…, 2012)
A symbol of perseverance and unity, “Here’s To Us” holds a special place in the hearts of both the band and their fans. Born out of uncertain times, the song serves as a reminder of the band’s journey and the bonds that hold them together through thick and thin.

Through these 15 songs, Lzzy Hale invites listeners to delve into the heart and soul of Halestorm’s music, each track offering a glimpse into the band’s evolution and the stories that have shaped their career. As they continue to rock stages around the world, their legacy remains etched in the hearts of fans old and new.

Become a Member and get access to shows, buy/sell tickets and network with fans & bands from across Canada. Sign-up for free!

Related Articles

The Day the Music Burned

It was the biggest disaster in the history of the music business — and almost nobody knew. This is the story of the 2008 Universal fire.
Chuck Berry, 1958.CreditCreditPhoto Illustration by Sean Freeman & Eve Steben for The New York Times. Source Photograph: Michael Ochs Archives/Getty Images.